Spring is traditionally the time for a good old clean, now that the kids are at school I’ve got a bit of time to start thinking about clearing out cupboards and doing a spot of redecorating.  When we bought our house we painted throughout in white, it looked great for a few years until the kids started scribbling over the walls with their felt tips.

I’m tackling one room at a time and taking it in manageable chunks working from the upstairs down.  For this post I’m focusing on the bathroom, I have already done the kids rooms and our bedroom and I will be posting about them very soon …

I love monochrome in the bathroom, it’s easy, clean and chic and when I get bored (as I invariably do) I can easily refresh with a lick of paint and a few cheap additions of colour…


But as you can see it needs something because it is looking a bit bland.  First I refresh the paintwork and grout, I’m keeping it white in here because it is a small bathroom.

And then the fun starts, I start to choose some ‘stuff’ to give it some personality and interest…


I love those gold fittings, the green blue glass jar would look great for cotton wool storage and the orange bath mat from habitat adds a pop of colour.  I also love a glittery loo seat, this one is from wilkos; it’s less then £20…


I love this bathroom cabinet from la redoute.  Watch out for their huge discount events, they often have 30% off and more going on…


I already have a bathroom cabinet from Ikea but if I didn’t I might be tempted by this storage…

Although this ‘refresh’ has got to be cheap! So I’m sticking to inexpensive items.  My shower curtain is looking past its best, I like this one from Ikea …


The marble accessories are from John Lewis.  And for all you copper lovers out there how about these…

Anyone else love browsing etsy? I can easily waste hours on there … 

and to finish with a spa look I’m loving H&M’s cheap but oh so stylish toiletries and lusting after this cashmere dressing gown (Mr family blog, please take note –  it’s my birthday soon)…

All of the items in my bathroom edit are on my Pinterest page, just click on the icon at the top of this site and it should take you there…

I hope I have given you some inspiration, please get in touch with your bathroom ideas, pictures and tips for a quick and cheap  bathroom refresh.

And finally – never miss another post again, subscribe above for emails directly to your inbox from me and you might like to visit, like and share my Facebook page … 

thank you so much,

Happy home spa,

Jules 😘 

One thought on “Spring house makeover – bathroom.  Quick and cheap refresh

  1. I love the monochrome look, and I think it works so well with this bathroom. That over the loo storage unit is a good idea too if you do decide to go for one, definitely utilises a smaller space well. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

