I am very excited because I have bought a ticket for the banarama reunion tour that is due in my home town of Brighton in the Autumn.  Mr family blog is relieved that I have moved on from blasting out George Michael constantly because I am now bopping around the kitchen to banarama. 

I’ve been watching some old videos of the group and admiring their style, yes, it’s looking a bit dated now but can I incorporate some of it into a modern day look? I think so…


I used to wear stripey tights and dm’s just like Siobhan in the 80’s! I think I’ll tone down the look and modernise it a bit …


Above are some pics for inspiration of high waisted mom jeans, perfect for achieving the look.  Topshop do a great range of jeans, you can find this style on the high street more or less everywhere.  Don’t forget to roll them up a couple of times and keep them scruffy! Levi’s 501’s would look great too.  A classic jean and maybe a bit less obvious 80’s.


Or how about some wide leg cropped trousers? I love these in navy from asos…

These ‘paper bag’ trousers are just gorgeous and have a definite nod to the 80’s about them …


And on top how about a classic Breton, like this one (below) from jigsaw, I like it because it’s nice and slouchy.  Tuck it in and roll up the cuffs


This one from warehouse has a modern take with the ties on the sleeves …


A quick look on eBay bought up some fab vintage blouses, like this one…


Or a oversized white shirt would look equally fab:


I’ve found some lovely cotton ones in M&S, just size up and again, roll up those cuffs! I’m loving this look by Siobhan …


Just accessorise with a skinny scarf, trench and hat:



And how cool is this vintage blazer found on eBay, love the paisley detail on the rolled up cuff …


And for your feet I’ve found a lovely soft pair of loafers from mango and of course some trusty converse …

Whatever you do don’t forget a red lip and some eyeliner.  Don’t overdo the eye make up not unless you want a real 80’s look! One of my favourite red lipsticks has to be ‘lady danger’ by mac…

Just accesorize with some hoop earrings and some sunnies and you’re good to go! Enjoy the music 🎶 💃💃


Robert DeNiros waiting, I must dash – but before I go if you would like to find any of the above items online take a look at my Pinterest page available by clicking on the button at the top of this site (scroll right up to the top) or search on Pinterest for Juleschi.  All the links to buy the items above are under 80’s fashion.  

Is anyone else going to the banarama gig or just enjoying the music at home? 

Maybe you just love the fashion from this decade.  As ever, I would love to hear from you,  please comment below …

Jules x

Ps – just to show you how banana obsessed I was in the 80’s here is a pic of our mirror dinghy that I learnt to sail in.  I remember repainting it with my dad, he let me choose the name and colour!

Leave a Reply

