Like most parents of young kids we inevitably end up with carnage at the end of the day.  Our living room floor is a barefoot hazard (Lego) and you would be hard pushed to find anywhere to sit that isn’t covered in toys or jam.  Our house is messy, and as much as I tell myself that tidy homes tend to be all alike and that ours has ‘personality’ there are times when the chaos and stuff gets too much and I attempt to do something about trying to grab some land back from the kids.

I like built in storage solutions for the bulk of our stuff but for the clearing up at the end of the day there is nothing better then a basket or similar recepitcle to sling it all in.

The high street is awash with stylish storage options, plastic boxes are just so passé …it helps to try and keep organised in terms of what you sling into where – i.e. try to keep sort stuff into categories – e.g. Lego in one box, cuddly toys in another, otherwise I find the kids just can’t play properly with their stuff.  Bits get lost. I also try to encourage the little ones to put something away before getting out the next thing.

Here is my edit if some of the best storage stuff out there …

Kicking off wth storage baskets, great for slinging toys and debris in at the end of the day to give you an instant feeling of calm …la redoute is one of my go to places to shop these days.  Currently they have 30% off wth the code big30…

I also love this colourful one from habitat

Or for something a bit more muted this one from John Lewis is fab for only £15.  I have it in my hall for slinging gloves and hats in …

I also like this one from Zara home

And love these fringed baskets from Marks & Spencer’s …


In my hallway I have this for perching on to take shoes on and off…


And I have the grey felt storage tub (above) for slinging hats and gloves etc in beside it.  I spotted this today in wilkinsons and I think it’s a great option for a hallway, just open the lid and sling all those bits in, it has a lovely slub linen finish, I was really impressed …


They also have it in a cube shape.  Perfect for storage in the living room, it could double as a pouffe…

A plethora of cables are a real irritation.  Ikea has the perfect solution …

And whilst we are on the subject of Ikea, I use these boxes for sorting recycling in the kitchen.  They are also great for a utility room …

Aside from baskets, I really like to stick my clutter behind closed doors.  I have some great built in storage at home, but I also absolutely love la redoute for it fantastic selection of storage units that can be used all over the house …

All the units above come in an variety of different gorgeous colours.

Still in la redoute, you could also utilise space behind doors for hanging coats …

And I couldn’t resist including this marble pot for organising your toothbrushes in the bathroom …

I hope this edit gives you some ideas for reigning in your stuff and restoring some calm in your house, as ever, I would love to know what you think, how do you organise clutter in your home? Have you found any real gems on the high street lately? Please share below!

Finding my feng shui,

Jules xx

2 thoughts on “Decluttering. Stylish storage for the home

Leave a Reply

