Mr Jules reached the half century this month.  Was he happy about it? No, don’t be daft .. he was positively depressed about the whole thing, didn’t want any fuss, he would rather stick pins in his eyes then have a party but I felt I had to mark it in some way ..


So I told him to book the day off work, bundled him into the car and took the party pooper into Brighton for the day.  

First stop – the pier.  “Lets act like teenagers for the day!” I said enthusiastically, dragging him by the arm towards the rides.  He humoured me by smiling in feigned appreciation.  

We were very lucky in that the sun was out and it was a beautiful day, as we neared the end of the pier we noticed that the rides were closed (it was too early).  Oh dear, never mind, those deck chairs look so inviting.  We sank down into them and pretended to each other that we were disappointed that the rides weren’t open. “Shame”, “yeah” ..


I could have easily nodded off in the sunshine but noticed that time was marching on and my belly was rumbling.  “Lunchtime!!” I said, trying to muster some enthusiasm.  On our way off the pier we spotted a photo opportunity.  I grabbed a protesting mr Jules and dragged him towards the board whilst simultaneously grabbing an innocent passer by to take the snap:


And that was when he managed to break his glasses. Poking his head through the hole. We then tore into town to look for an optician who could help.  

And after all that drama I was glad to unwind in one of my favourite Brighton restaurants for lunch.  Terre a Terre.


To tie in with our seaside themed outing we both had battered halloumi and chips. Actually posh battered halloumi and chips, on the menu it was described as ..Better Batter and Lemony Yemeni Relish.  (Soft buttermilk soaked halloumi dipped in chip shop batter, served with vodka-spiked preserved plum tomatoes, bright fresh pea mint hash with pickled quails egg, sea salad tartar and thick chips, finished with lemony Yemeni relish).   Absolutely delish.  I do my own version at home, slightly less convoluted, I will put the recipe on the blog soon.

And as it was an important birthday I arranged for candles on his majesty’s pudding. But, guess what? He didn’t want dessert 😩 but the staff surprised us with this.. which was very nice ..


And if anyone fancies recreating some of the award winning vegetarian dishes the restaurant has published a cookery book featuring most dishes on the menu. 

I have the book and I’m looking forward to giving sime of the recipes a go, although I doubt very much I can match the presentation of some of these fabulous dishes. I’m a bit more of a rustic chef. 


But I have to admit that I would prefer these recipes to Mr Jules book (a birthday present)


And when we got home we all enjoyed sharing birthday cake for tea with the kids. The perfect end to near – perfect day.

Are you going to be celebrating a big birthday this year? What do you have planned? A nice holiday? A party with all your friends and family? Do you want to do something momentous? 

I suggested a leather jacket and Harley Davidson was a present but unfortunately the funds don’t stretch to this now .. I think anyway that Mr Jules is much more low key and contended at home 🏡 

Happy birthday celebrations and party planning ..

Jules x

(With birthday fatigue)

7 thoughts on “A celebration for the reluctant birthday boy

  1. That was lovely of them to bring out the plate with a candle & message, and such a great idea for you to do a Brighton daytrip! Shame about the glasses, but I guess something had to happen to put a spanner in the works! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww we love Brighton. It’s our special place together. Wishing your fella a happy 50th. Such a shame these places aren’t up and raining all year round. Reasons why I don’t want another winter baby. Winter birthdays really feel like you miss out a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

