Recently I gave my little mans room a bit of a makeover.

I’m not a fan of colour on walls, I prefer adding personality in accessories because I know I will tire of it quickly and want a change.  I also prefer to have a neutral shade throughout, it flows better, doesn’t look disjointed and opens up your space.  

Little man’s room is now a monochrome scheme with a pop of yellow ..


I love this paper so much I just had to have it and everything else flowed from there ..but it is a strong print and that is why I have only used it on one wall.  

The bedside table and light is from IKEA, as is the ‘sheepskin’ and the bedding.  I have also found some lovely monochrome bedding on H&M home. The prints are from etsy, (a friend of mine noticed the chevron print one on etsy – thank you Bianca! x) frames are ‘Ribba‘ from Ikea. Rug and cushions are from H&M.

I’ve also had a quick browse on the H&M home website, if you haven’t discovered H&M home then you really need to, they have some gorgeous bedding for kids:


And for the little extras they are pretty good too. These storage boxes are only £1.99!

I made some curtains myself, don’t look at them too carefully! It was a first attempt at sewing, I found it really satisfying doing something myself, I went to some local sewing classes for guidance with them and watched some YouTube videos.  It’s actually not that hard, you measure your curtain rail, add a half or double width and measure your desired drop. Cut the lining if you are using it smaller then the curtain, sew inside down the length then hem and sew a header tape into the top.  The fabric is a grey slub linen with a yellow band sewn on the bottom to tie in with the rest of the scheme.

My little man is pleased with the end result, a kind of Jurassic dinosaur landscape..

Would you like to see some more of my home? Do you enjoy getting some inspiration on interiors? As ever, I would love to hear from you, please feel free to comment below ..

Thanks! 

Jules xx

11 thoughts on “A bedroom fit for a little man

  1. Well done on making your first curtains, they look fab. I bought myself a sewing machine last year after many years of not sewing . I had to replace my old one but I haven’t made anything as yet, maybe I need to start again. I used to make all sorts of items including, clothes and soft furnishings. How did you enjoy the course?
    I’m sure your little man will love his new bedroom.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Ruth! I’m so glad you are enjoying the blog, Alex does love his bedroom but it doesn’t normally look so tidy. I’m working on a Roman blind for Alice’s room now, I love sewing, I get absorbed and I find that incredibly relaxing, just listening to classic fm ..
      The sewing bee classes in Worthing are the ones I went too, it’s a friendly group and I learnt a lot x

      Like

  2. This is beautiful, absolutely beautiful. You did an amazing job with the curtains, I was about to ask where they were from before I scrolled down and read, you’d seriously have never known, they look fantastic! LOVE, monochrome.

    Emily xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

