Hi everyone, I hope you have all had a wonderful Christmas.  I’ve had a few days off, relaxing at home (well, as much as is possible with two overcited kiddies)

We haven’t done anything terribly exciting, money is a bit tight post Xmas so I am trying to be creative in keeping the kids exercised/entertained etc .. I think we have been quite lucky in that the weather has actually been pretty good and we’ve been able to get out.

The other day we went for a bracing walk to blow away the cobwebs and had a winter picnic.  I fill a flask with soup and pack a small camping gas stove so I can cook up some hotdogs in the woods .. the kids love the whole experience.

                                                          ‘riding broomsticks’

                                                  The view for our picnic

The kids love this very simple carrot and lentil soup:

Ingredients:

4 large carrots

1 onion

1 stick celery

Approx 100 grams red lentils

Veg stock

Method:

Peel carrots, chop veg and add to pan with a little oil and sauté with lid on until onions transparent. Add stock and lentils (I always rinse the lentils first in a sieve) bring to boil and then reduce heat and let simmer until veg has softened.  Blend in processor or use stick blender until you have a smooth consistency unless of course you prefer it chunky and you are lucky enough that your kids will tolerate lumps! Add more stock if too thick.

If we are at home I would serve this soup with croutons and grated cheese on top.  It works just as well in a flask..

Veggie hotdogs always seem to go down well and the kids love the experience of cooking outside. These little stoves are brilliant. Just chuck it in a rucksack and go.  Don’t forget a camping pan, matches, water to cook with and magic sauce!

              Lightweight and compact, the kids will love cooking out of doors ..

           These sausages are our favourites, available from Ocado and Waitrose 

                                 And whatever you do don’t forget the ketchup!

So get on your wellies, wrap up and go and enjoy some outdoors fun and don’t forget to let me know where you have been because I’m always on the lookout for new and wonderful places to explore! (Comment below).

Happy picnicking,

Jules x

3 thoughts on “A Winter picnic

    1. Thank you for the feedback Valerie! I’m so glad you are enjoying my blog. I have to get my kids out and exercise them everyday, they have so much energy! I think times have changed from when I was a child and played out all day in the street quite happily ..

      Like

Leave a Reply

