So, it’s the start of a new week and I’m a bit low on food, I want to use up leftovers in the fridge and really fancy a curry.  I also need to make sure it’s something that the kids will eat because I don’t want to have to cook two meals.  This one ticks all the boxes.

Ingredients ..

Cumin seeds

Turmeric

Root ginger

Clove garlic

Onion

Tin tomatoes

Veg stock (approx 400ml)

Any leftover veg eg: sweet potato, peppers and green beans

Brown rice

Method ..

I put on the rice to cook and add a couple of generous slugs of olive oil to a pan with the chopped onion, I pop it on a low heat to soften.  In my blender I whizz up a thumb size piece of ginger with the clove of garlic.  (If you are making this for adults you could add a red chilli at the point).  My kids won’t touch nothing with heat so I leave it out.  Add this mix to the pan with a heaped teaspoon of turmeric and heaped teaspoon of cumin seeds.  Stir until the onion mixture is coated in the spices and then add the tin of tomatoes, mash down and leave on a low heat to reduce down whilst you prepare the veg.

Peel and chop whatever veg you have available, I used sweet potato, red pepper and green beans but you can use anything – cauliflower, spuds, peas, carrots .. I add the veg and stock to the pan once the tomato mixture is reduced a bit, pop a lid on and leave to cook the veg.  It’s as simple as that.

Once the veg is cooked I serve the curry with some brown rice.  You can add a chapati, chutney, whatever you fancy ..

Enjoy 😊

2 thoughts on “Quick veggie kid friendly curry

Leave a Reply

