Monday is a catching up day.  A day for planning meals, shopping, housework and running errands.  The weekends are hectic with the kids and come Monday morning the house looks like a bomb has gone off.  I take the kids to school, get home collapse with a cup of tea and enjoy the silence (for a bit)..

I try and meal plan for the week, sounds dull I know but it really does save me so much time and money! I don’t tend to throw much out; do all my food shopping on the internet and only buy what I need.  I hate going around shops, I just can’t be bothered.  We buy a delivery bundle from a supermarket and I reckon it saves us so much in the long run when you factor in time and money spent driving to/from a shop.

Today I am cooking veggie Glamorgan sausages with mashed potatoes, veg and cranberry gravy.  Perfect for a cold day.  The sausages can be prepared before you need them and just kept in the fridge.  Once again I am relying on my kenwood processor to do all the hard work.

For the sausages I take about 4 thick slices of whole meal bread and whizz into breadcrumbs.  Empty into a bowl and then whizz a large hunk of mature cheddar and a large onion.  Stir into the bowl.  In a cup whisk up with a fork one egg with a teaspoon of Dijon mustard.  Stir into the sausage mix with some mixed herbs.

img_0484
img_0487img_0486
img_0489The mix should now be fairly moist and easy to mould into sausage shapes.  To cook place into a well oiled Pyrex or other oven proof shallow dish ready for cooking (180 for approx 15 minutes or until they look golden and cooked through)

Cook some spuds, Diseree work well and mash with a large chunk of butter and splash of milk.  I tend to add seasoning at the table because I don’t like to add extra salt to my kids meals.

You can also steam some carrots, peas, broccoli or any other veg that you fancy to accompany it.

For the cranberry gravy I put approx 450 Mls water in a pan on a high heat, add one teaspoon of stock, 3 tablespoons of soy sauce and 1 1/2 tablespoons of cranberry jelly.  In a jug I mix one heaped tablespoon of cornflour to 1 1/2  tablespoons of orange juice and 1 1/2 tablespoons of sherry.  Stir the flour into the liquid and then pour a bit of the saucepan mix into it, stir again and then add to the saucepan.  Bring to the boil and keep stirring.  Don’t panic if you get lumps, I have often reached for my hand held blender and popped it into the pan to get it nice and smooth at the end of cooking.

The gravy might seem a bit of work, you don’t have to do it, you can just offer the kids ketchup with the sausage and veg and that’s fine too! I included the gravy recipe if you are wanting to make the dish a bit more interesting.  My kids actually love this gravy because it is nice and sweet and the combination of the cranberry, soy and sherry makes a lovely combination.  I have experimented with lots of veggie gravy recipes in the past and this one really is the nicest I’ve made.

These sausages are also perfect for lunch boxes as sausage rolls (I just wrap in pastry before cooking).

I hope you enjoy this teatime recipe.  Please feel free to comment and let me know what you think of the blog so far, I would love to hear from you!

Happy Monday,

Jules x

Leave a Reply

